“When the bird and the book disagree, always believe the bird.” James Audubon.

“When the bird and the book disagree, always believe the bird,” said James Audubon.

This fall for me has been a time of decisions, contemplating my dharma, reflecting on my past, setting new directions. I’m taking a yogic philosophy class at the Ventura Yoga Studio. I went back to grad school, this time for a PhD in Community, Liberation, and Ecopsychology at Pacifica Graduate Institute.

We also emptied my grandparent’s house to rent it; unfortunately not to me. This piece of art by James Audubon reminds me of my connection to my grandfather–his love of birds, wine, nature…I thought he had this print framed but if didn’t turn up; my brother and his wife got the prints of grapes from the kitchen. Hard not to be attached, not to be felled by loss.

How’s your fall harvest going? What are you planting? What will come up in spring?

Source of the art. More info on the art:

Creator Name: Audubon, John James
Creator Qualifier: after
Creator Nationality: North American; American
Creator Dates/Places: 1780 – 1851
Creator Birth Place: Les Cayes, Saint-Dominique (now Haiti)
Creator Death Place: New York, N.Y. City
Creator Name-CRT: after John James Audubon
Title: Pileated Woodpecker
View: Full View
Creation Start Date: 1860
Creation End Date: 1860
Creation Date: 1860
Creation Place: United States
Object Type: Prints
Creator Name: Lithograph
Materials and Techniques: color lithograph
Dimensions: 96.5 x 63 cm (image); 100.4 x 67.5 cm (sheet)
Contributor: Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Owner Location: San Francisco, California, USA
ID Number: 1994.36
Credit Line: Gift of Peter Carleton
Copyright: Personal and educational non-commercial uses are permitted and encouraged.
Rights: http://www.thinker.org/fam/about/imagebase/subpage.asp?subpagekey=75
ID: FASF.19905
Library Year: 1998

3 comments on ““When the bird and the book disagree, always believe the bird.” James Audubon.”

  1. Delays in wine shipments from the West coast may keep me in New York another week or two…did you have to move the wines, then?


Leave a Reply

