It’s not just another day

Do you think this is just another day in your life?

It’s not just another day.

It’s the one day that is given to you today. It’s given to you. It’s a gift. It’s the only gift that you have right now.

And the only appropriate response is gratefulness.

If you do nothing else but cultivate that response to the great gift that this unique day is…if you learn to respond as if it were the first day of your life and the very last, then you will have spent this day very well.

–words by Brother David Steindl-Rast; art by Leslie Rinchen-Wongmo, one of the only westerners trained in the rare Buddhist art of silk applique thangkas. His Holiness the Dalai Lama gave his blessings to Leslie’s work and encouraged her to make images that speak to the spiritual aspirations of people across religions and cultures. Learn more about Leslie from this documentary: Creating Buddhas: the Making and Meaning of Fabric Thangkas.

Happy Earth Month!

For me, April is shaping up to be quite full of family fun but also stresses from work and school; we’ve been camping and bike riding and skiing…and my dean and my department chair visited my class and I have four papers to write by Saturday, totaling 35-40 pages.

I love this image by Leslie and its message because it reminds me when I am feeling overwhelmed of how much nature gives to me, how I am able to bring those gifts into each and every day, how those gifts guide me and get me through the challenges and joys of each day.

This Earth Month make a point of not just attending an Earth event, but attending to Earth itself, to this day on Earth–the waning moon tonight, the spring flowers bursting out this morning. Notice how much brighter the plumage is on the breeding birds, how vibrant their songs.

Remember, it’s not just another day, but this day. Fill yourself with gratitude for what it has to give you.

Dedicated to my co-heart in Community, Liberation and Ecopsychology at Pacifica Graduate Institute. May the words flow from your smooth mind…

Leave a Reply

